REAL ESTATE, Uncategorized

Home Ownership

Nonna

My grandparents came to the shores of this great country in the 1920s. Back then banks weren’t making loans like they do now. You had to save your money and sometimes the seller would take back a mortgage. As a child I spent most of my days with grandma and grandpa. We would tend the garden and Pop would teach me all about the roses, cucumbers, tomatoes, figs and those big ugly green tomato worms. Before I was 5 I could grow, pick and plant a victory garden thanks to Pop.

I also went with them when they would go and collect rents from the various buildings they owned or spend the day watching grandpa paint a house. It was during this time that I fell in love with real estate, gardening and cooking. Home ownership builds pride in people. It imparts security and a sense of success. It is the American dream which is not so far from most people’s reach today. It is my wish that every responsible and qualified person experience the joys of home ownership if that is one of their dreams. It is my prayer for them.

Although regulations governing loans has been tightened this year due in part to the crazy times leading up to the 2008 crash, loans are still relatively easy to qualify for.

My grandparents worked hard. My grandpa was a singing waiter and house-painter. Grandma worked as a finisher in a sweat shop in Manhattan. They didn’t always have the benefit of getting a loan from the bank. They gave mortgages to the sellers or took back mortgages from buyers. I recently did a property records search in Brooklyn and discovered all the homes my grandparents owned, how they paid for them and how they sold them. Those methods would be considered unusual today given regulations and the ease of securing traditional loans from banks or other lending institutions but that’s how the old timers did it back then. My grandparents paid off their loans, bought and sold homes and commercial buildings and raised a family. This is the American dream. How lucky we are to have freedom to pursue our dreams.
It was always my dream to own a home for as long as I could remember. I saved and saved and when I was 22 I bought my first home, a fixer-upper. I went from bank to bank with arms full of tax documents to prove my worthiness for a loan. I paid application fees I could not even afford to pay and was turned down every time. I owed nothing. But that didn’t matter to the bankers because I didn’t have a credit history. Finally someone told me to get a credit card and establish a credit history. I paid cash for everything and I didn’t want a credit card but I needed it now. I went to Macy’s got a credit card, bought a shirt, paid it off and then I had credit. I secured a loan at Flatbush Federal Savings and Loan for 10 1/4 % interest and my mother had to co-sign the loan. I worked on that house for 10 years and I learned a lot. I had my own garden, my own fig trees and my own lawn. It was great.

I wish everyone who has this dream has the opportunity to live it. It is truly a blessing. It takes hard work, patience and money but in the end it is all worth it. Real Estate is a wealth builder. Real Estate is the way to achieving your dreams.

I worked as a real estate paralegal for over 11 years and gained so much knowledge and insight into the real estate world. I closed over 2,000 loans and bought and sold real estate. I am a licensed REALTOR Associate with Exit Real Estate in Freehold, New Jersey and a member of the New Jersey Association of Realtors and the National Association of Realtors as well as MLS. It is a great profession and a wonderful way to help people achieve their dreams.

There is a special satisfaction one gets from helping people buy and sell homes. For most people this is the biggest investment of their lives. Nerves and emotions run high. It is my job to make it a smooth happy and exciting process.

I wish you all a happy house hunting experience.

If you or anyone you know are looking to buy or sell a home now or in the future in New Jersey, USA, please give me the opportunity to earn your business.

I also enjoy answering questions. Feel free to email me if you have a question, I will be more than happy to help.

http://www.edwardmonti.com
sellfast@edwardmonti.com

Standard

Leave a Reply

